The First Thursday Art Group was established in 1998 by artists who work primarily in water media. The group is an informal organization which meets monthly to critique their art and to exchange information and ideas. Each artist must bring a completed work for discussion every month. These lively discussions encourage objectivity, creativity and act as a stimulus for the members.

The First Thursday Art Group has exhibited their works in various galleries in the Phoenix area. Some of the members have been juried into national shows and have earned awards and designations. Several First Thursday artists are watercolor instructors and all are working on a professional level. All members live and work in the East Valley .

There are currently twelve members in the group and each artist has a unique style and technique. They include; Russell Anderson, Norbert Baird, Beth Drathman, Bonnie Ender, James Farrah AWS/NWS/WFS/NAPA, Diana Ferguson, Carole Hillsbery, Kim Johnson NWS, JoEllen Layton, Carol Orr AWS/NWS, Chereen Tanner & Kathryn Tartaglia.